In search of a mentor/collaborator

Do you have a project proposal that should involve music? Looking for collaborations? See if the community would like to help you.
Forum rules
Please be respectful towards musicians who are contemplating whether to help you or not.

In search of a mentor/collaborator

Postby Electric Velocity » 27 Jan 2014 06:23

I'm looking for someone to work with me and to learn from so I can improve my music making skills and get experience. I have done collaborations in the past, but haven't been able to learn much from them. I want learn everything from scratch and work my way up.

I'm a musician who is still waiting on the starting line. I've been making music for a year and a half now, and I can't actually say I know much about it. Most of my life I wasn't exposed to much diversity as far as genres or famous artists, so I never really developed a favorite type of music until recently. I've tried my best to listen and study the music I like, but as all musicians know, it's hard to figure out how to correctly produce the sound in your head. Basically, I'm looking for a way to build a foundation for my music so I can get to a point where I'll be able to decide the direction I want to go.

Some people have said my objectives and standards are too precise. I want to work on a specific type of music with a specific goal in mind. I'm aware that if anyone wants to help me or work with me, I'll have to broaden my scope, but in order to find the right type of person, I think it would be best to narrow down my search.

Here's some of the things I'm looking for. Not all criteria have to be met, I'm just trying to get across what I need.

-Someone who knows a fair amount about composition and song structure.

-Someone who knows how to play a musical instrument. (Guitar, piano, trumpet, drums)