What kind of musician am I?

We all love it, otherwise it's unlikely you'd be here. Talk about the show and the fanbase surrounding it. Brony music discussions encouraged.

What kind of musician am I?

Postby DiZ-Inmotion » 04 Jul 2014 15:34

I'm a generally new musician to the fandom that writes rap songs about small, multicolored horses. The thing is, I don't really make my own songs, I write lyrics over other people's songs. I have their permission, of course, but I don't really know if that counts as making music.

Is it really my music, if it's not really me making the actual music part?

What kind of musician am I, if I'm a musician at all?
Making music is more than creation of sound. It's delivering a message to the people that hear you.
DiZ-Inmotion

Primary: Audacity
Cutie Mark: Delta

Re: What kind of musician am I?

Postby Freewave » 04 Jul 2014 15:50

Sounds like you are a lyricist.

Some people write and sing/rap words and that's their focus. Some people like Feather may or may not be full on musicians and may just be "vocalists" but that's not discounting that they may influence the direction on a track. Some hip-hop producers in this fandom (like mycutiemarkisagun and formerly voodoopony) make the beats but don't touch the lyrical portion at all. You also have remixers and cover artists who may not do something original but find ways to play with the original track and recreate it in interesting ways. There's dj's who only mix other peoples tracks together but take people on musical voyages and create music in their own way through second hand means without making a single track of their own. There's also engineers and producers who make that rough track sound really nice.