how to record

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

how to record

Postby ThePsychedelicBrony » 11 Feb 2013 08:10

I'm trying to make music with my acoustic guitar and I'm new to recording is the a good way to record with a acoustic.
ThePsychedelicBrony

Re: how to record

Postby Raddons » 11 Feb 2013 08:24

A microphone seems like a good way to record.
Raddons

Primary: Not yet specified.
Cutie Mark: Blank flank

Postby itroitnyah » 11 Feb 2013 08:28

Buy a dynamic microphone and set it up with Audacity or Edison, or some other recording software. That's just the basics. I could go into getting the acoustics of your room right as well, but I'll assume you're on a budget.

Go into further detail. Do you have a microphone? Do you have any other hardware that may be required? (Some microphones require an XLR connection, but most condenser mic's I've seen are USB) Do you have software that has recording from an external source/microphone capabilities? Which part are you getting confused on?
Image Image I am no longer an active member. here
My studio: [List of equipment]
itroitnyah

Primary: FL Studio 11

Postby Lavender_Harmony » 11 Feb 2013 10:48

Some more details of what you already have would be nice, and what kind of acoustic guitar it is, as in if it's fully acoustic, or it's an acoustic/electric with a piezo pickup.
Lavender_Harmony

Postby senntenial » 11 Feb 2013 14:37

Some basic rules I've read about are
-use a condenser mic
-place the mic a sufficient distance from your instrument (the general rule is place it 2x the length of your instrument away, but I think it depends on how much reverb you want or what kind of space you are in)
-don't sample from the soundhole, but around the 12th fret. Moving towards the soundhole gives more body but no definition. Moving farther up the neck gives more definition but no body.

I haven't tested these yet myself, but they at least seem logical haha. good luck