how to make tire noise.../any1 wanna co-op?

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

how to make tire noise.../any1 wanna co-op?

Postby NoPonyShouldKnow » 22 Jan 2013 03:18

Hai! Just joined. 22-yr-old music noob here, but at least I know what a semitone is.
I've been messing with FL for about a year just for fun. Now I want to make something legit.
Wrestled with this wip for a couple days and can't seem to find a way to make the main synth noise I want. Y'know, that sort of mix between a train whistle and a tire screech...with a little white noise in the high end maybe? Any1 care what I'm talking about?

In any case, it would probably help to get some accountability going with some sort of co-op. Otherwise I might be satisfied to make trash, call it a day, and go take a nap. :mrgreen:

https://soundcloud.com/1millionmonkeysonflstudio/wip17
- I'm the great and powerful sound scientist! *fireworks*

- Trixie and Dash are obviously in the ninja assassin order. [Twilight too, right?] Nah, she's just a fan of the order.

fl studio
NoPonyShouldKnow

Re: how to make tire noise.../any1 wanna co-op?

Postby itroitnyah » 22 Jan 2013 06:35

Hmm, could you post a sample of the sound you want? Did you hear it in a song and want to replicate it, or do you just want to try and synthesize a new sound and that just happens to be what it sounds like :P

Anyways, welcome aboard. Learn music theory, learn what hardware you'll need to or want to get for a small home studio, and learn your way around synths. That'll just leave composing the songs, which isn't that hard itself.
Image Image I am no longer an active member. here
My studio: [List of equipment]
itroitnyah

Primary: FL Studio 11
Cutie Mark: Blank flank

Postby NoPonyShouldKnow » 22 Jan 2013 08:49

To be specific I was thinking of making a bastard offspring of the high pitch lead from pegboard nerds pressure cooker and LT's love me cheerilee opener. Ignore 5% of what I said.