I'm new here (looking for advice on how to get started)

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

I'm new here (looking for advice on how to get started)

Postby topitmunkeydog » 02 Jan 2013 13:57

Hello everybody! I am new here and am interested in creating some sort of electronic music, and I thought bronies would be the best people to ask about this, because after all we do have the best music :D

I am interested in starting a band with some of my friends, but as I can only play the piano I decided that I would learn how to do electronic components to the music. So yeah, I can play the piano and have been playing for somewhat a long time but not a super long time. And I can kind of play the ukulele. Other than that I have no experience making music, and barely any compositional experience.

So I was wondering, what sort of equipment and skills make up the staple of electronic music production? I have downloaded many free softwares like LMMS, DarkWave, and Hydrogen, and I have a USB midi interface. Is it worth it to get actual synthesizers, or is it more economical to do everything on the computer (like on AudioTool)? I am also considering investing in really old analog synths like they use in Metronomy or Trio but are you supposed to connect these to a "controller" thingy or whatever? See, I know next to nothing about synthesizers save for what I've learned while browsing through thrift stores so advice is definitely appreciated.

Thank you so so much in advance, I am completely lost as to what to do... :3
topitmunkeydog

Primary: (trying to learn) ableton
Cutie Mark: yes

Re: I'm new here (looking for advice on how to get started)

Postby itroitnyah » 02 Jan 2013 14:04