Free Kontakt Alternative?

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

Free Kontakt Alternative?

Postby cloudshovit » 06 Dec 2012 20:31

I hate that NKI is now sort of the standard format for sample banks. And the Kontakt player is a joke, you can only use it for 30 mins? Really? Although FL's Direct-Wave seems to work, I just wanna know if there are other options for this. 399$ for a sample player and you'd to have to pay for an upgrade too.
cloudshovit

Re: Free Kontakt Alternative?

Postby itroitnyah » 06 Dec 2012 21:13

It's because of the versatility of Kontakt. Or, I would assume. I've never used or seen it in action before. *looks up more of it* Yeah, Kontakt has a ton of built in filters and effects that put it above DirectWave, and I'm assuming other stuff that I can't see upon glancing. Plus Native Instruments tends to charge more for their synths because they're a larger company. It's probably more worth around $300ish, and you can't condemn them for the pricing, samplers that are as powerful as Kontakt are incredibly complex to code and create. And a lot of professionals with access to places like full scale orchestral halls will make sound banks for people, so that probably drives the value up as well.

Also, I'm not sure what you're talking about when you say "You can only use it for 30 mins? Really?" Pretty sure that the full version allows for unlimited time to use it. Must be a demo version?
Image Image I am no longer an active member. here
My studio: [List of equipment]
itroitnyah

Primary: FL Studio 11
Cutie Mark: Blank flank

Postby cloudshovit » 06 Dec 2012 21:38