<Poni><Original><Ambient>(FoE) The World Behind Closed Steel

Let's hear what you've got, Brony. Feedback is encouraged. Please embed EQBeats, Youtube or Soundcloud.

<Poni><Original><Ambient>(FoE) The World Behind Closed Steel

Postby Jokeblue » 11 Apr 2014 09:51

Ok! So this is my first attempt at making ambient type music! It was a lot of fun and very different to what I normally make. There was so much experimenting with sounds. This was done as a Uni assignment in my composition techniques classes where we had to come up with a notation system and then record a song based off of that. My notation thing was 'Narrative Notation', in which I wrote a short descriptive story and composed around it (went pretty well, got 9.2 out of 10 for it :3). Though the story does not directly follow Fallout: Equestria's opening as I had to write something original, my main inspiration in composing and all I could really think of was Littlepip emerging from the vault for the first time to see what awaits her in the world behind closed steel. And so, have the short story for this composition.

Spoiler Part I -- The Ascent and the Door:
I surveyed the set of metal stairs that led up to the entrance of the Vault, still unused to the eerie atmosphere even after all these years. The ever present hum of the overhead lights whirring on without end; the occasional plop, plop of water leaks; the echoing reverberance of clangs and pipes; all seeming to echo on eternally within the bunker's metal walls. With slight trepidation, I ascended the steel steps to the entrance, my footsteps ringing out to join the rest of the ambiance. My heart beat a little faster as I reached nearer and nearer. Finally reaching the top, I pulled the large power switch, listening to the falling whir of the main power supply shutting off and redirecting to the great steel door that sealed me safely away from whatever may await above.