Drums on Abelton Live

Sample Packs? VSTs? DAWs? EQ? What DOES the knee on the Compressor do? All computer-related music making topics belong here!

Drums on Abelton Live

Postby Midnight Muse » 14 Jul 2015 21:25

So. I recently purchased my first recording setup. (cheers!)
and I have been messing around with it for a few months now, I've got some music in the works, but.
No matter what I do, I cannot figure out the drums. I have everything else pretty much down pat, but the drums are unusable. I have gone so far as to consider just recording myself tapping on my desk as a hihat and using my office chair as a kick, a full on improv. set. is there a better way to use abelton live for drums? (I do not have a Midi controller yet, but I'm working on it.)
any advice is gratefully accepted.
Midnight Muse

Primary: Ableton Live 9
Cutie Mark: something special.

Re: Drums on Abelton Live

Postby Acsii » 24 Oct 2015 20:06

It really depends on the kind of music you're trying to make honestly. Drums do tend to be the hardest bit to right though. I tend to start with the standard four on the floor beat and then go from there depending on the song. Here's an example of a very basic beat in one of my tracks.

https://soundcloud.com/acsiident/your-love

and then a slightly more complicated one.

https://soundcloud.com/acsiident/letter-ft-nexgen-2015-redux

Even though both of these were made in Logic, the process still translates.
Hope I can help you work it out.
20 something Transgirl that makes sounds called music
Soundcloud | Facebook | Bandcamp | Blog
Placing my tongue on the GR meter to taste the gain reduction I some how improved my skills.
Acsii

Primary: Logic Pro X
Cutie Mark: Old round oscilloscope

Re: Drums on Abelton Live

Postby NightmareRare » 26 Oct 2015 02:29