Ableton, should I read the Manual and do the lessons?

Discuss tips, tricks, and the creative process of music creation. Post HELP threads here

Ableton, should I read the Manual and do the lessons?

Postby Dabrenn » 13 Dec 2011 19:59

Topic says it all, I'm totally new to Ableton and 99% new to making music (I've spent maybe a grand total of 5 hours inside of FLstudio, but I have played piano for many years so I do know musical theory). I think I want to use Ableton over FL (Advice on this issue is valued as well) and I was wondering if you guys think that reading the VERY daunting and lengthy manual, plus doing all the built in lessons are worth my time?

Or should I just do the Lessons and not the manual or vice versa?

Or just jump in and do nothing?

Thanks for any and all help! I'm new a very willing to eat up every piece of wisdom from more experienced users.
Dabrenn

Re: Ableton, should I read the Manual and do the lessons?

Postby Aussie » 13 Dec 2011 22:53

Definitely worth it. I learned lots of things that helped me get started with that manual. Go look on Youtube for some beginner tutorials too!
Aussie

Postby Overkillius » 14 Dec 2011 02:14

as far as I know on the Ableton over FL issue, I've heard that you can do more with Other DAWs than you can with FL.

I think you should do what Aussie reccomends! The internet is your friend when it comes to learning.
> Music Youtube! <
>>>> Tumblr! <<<<
Overkillius wrote:The bad thing about music... is that it is subjective.
The good thing about music... is that it is subjective!
Overkillius

Primary: Reaper, Famitracker
Cutie Mark: #9 Chords

Postby Xzon » 14 Dec 2011 20:13

I'd just stick with the lessons. Thats what I did, and now I'm a total bitchin rock star from Mars.
Xzon

Postby randomblockfilms » 14 Dec 2011 20:28